What does the new blocking mode bring? Who is it suitable for?
While Samsung has offered a secure mode for many devices with Knox for years, Apple is introducing a similar mode with iOS 16, which does one thing differently than its Android counterpart. According to Apple, this is less of a special secured profile and more intended to protect many more users from cyber attacks by restricting your activities. The iPhone maker writes:
Lockdown mode is an optional, extreme defense measure that should only be used if you think you’ve been hit by a sophisticated cyber attack. Few people have ever been affected by such an attack.
When the device (iPhone) is in lock mode, the device stops working as usual.
Apps, websites and features are heavily restricted for security. Some functions are no longer available at all.
As you can see from the description, the lockout mode is not for the average iPhone user, but instead targets a small group of people who are particularly vulnerable to potential attacks. This should also prevent stateful spyware attacks from Pegasus or other applications as much as possible.
How does iOS 16’s Lockdown mode protect you?
Apple wants to provide more privacy for a small group of people, so they introduce block mode. This severely limits the iPhone’s functionality to prevent potential attacks. When the device (iPhone) is in lock mode, apps, websites and security features are very limited. Some functions are no longer available at all. The following security measures are available for the introduction of the new feature:
- tidings: Most types of message attachments except images are blocked. Some features, such as link previews, have been disabled.
- Apple Services: Incoming invitations and service requests, including FaceTime calls, will be blocked if users have not previously called or sent a request to the initiator.
- FaceTime: Incoming FaceTime calls from people you haven’t called before will be blocked.
- common ALBUMS: Shared Albums are removed from the Photos app and new invitations to Shared Albums are blocked.
- Device links: Cable connections to other devices or accessories are blocked while the device (iPhone) is locked.
- Profiles: Configuration profiles cannot be installed and the device cannot be registered in mobile device management (MDM) when lock mode is enabled.
How to Enable Lock Mode in iOS 16
Unlike other features of the new operating system, lock mode is not enabled by default and must be enabled manually. To do this, open the Settings app and select the “Privacy & Security” entry. Now scroll down to the bottom and tap on Lock Mode. After an initial explanation, tap “Enable Lock Mode.” You will then be informed of the many limitations that come with using the mod. If you agree, tap “Enable Lock Mode” again. You will get another warning and finally select “Activate and restart”. Your device will now restart and various functions will be disabled. You can disable the mode at any time in the same way.
Will you be using the new lock mode? Should Apple let you know which features to block and which not to? Tell us in the comments.
Apple iPhone 13 (128GB) – Midnight